Halder Institute

Contact us on +919433441102 or hcfe1974@gmail.com

WBCS Executive Examination


If you have a high ambition you can choose WBCS (Executive) Etc. Exam. Course for thorough preparations in all subjects of Preliminary & Main including Optional Subjects.

Subjects of WBCS Exam

Scheme of the Preliminary Examination : The Preliminary Examination will consist of only one paper, viz., a paper on "General Studies" . The paper will be of an objective type consisting of 200 multiple-choice questions. The paper will carry 200 marks and will be of 2.5 hours duration. The standard of the paper will be of the level of knowledge as expected of a graduate of any faculty of a recognized University. The paper will include questions covering the following fields of knowledge:

  • English Composition 25 Marks.
  • General Science 25 Marks.
  • Current Events of National & International Importance 25 Marks.
  • History of India 25 Marks.
  • Geography of India with special reference to West Bengal 25 Marks.
  • Indian Polity and Indian Economy 25 Marks.
  • Indian National Movement 25 Marks.
  • General Mental Ability 25 Marks.

The Preliminary Examination is meant to serve as a Screening Test only for the purpose of selection of candidates for the Main Examination. The marks obtained in this examination by the candidates will not be considered for final selection. Only those candidates who will be declared qualified at the Preliminary Examination in a year shall be eligible for admission to the W.B.C.S. (Exe.) etc.(Main) Examination of that year.

Scheme of the Main Examination: The Main Examination shall consist of six Compulsory papers and one optional subject consisting of two papers (Only for candidates applying for group A and / or B) to be chosen by the candidates from the list of optional subjects given below. There will be two papers of the optional subject of 200 marks each. Each paper, Compulsory or Optional, will carry 200 marks and will be of 3 hours duration. Out of six compulsory papers four papers i.e.

  • General Studies- I
  • General Studies- II
  • The Constitution of India and Indian Economy including role and functions of Reserve Bank of India.
  • Arithmetic and Test of Reasoning will be of MCQ Type to be answered in OMR answer sheets and remaining two compulsory papers i.e. Paper - I and Paper - II will be of conventional type written examination.

    Compulsory Papers : Six compulsory papers are as follows:

    • Paper I : Bengali/Hindi/Urdu/Nepali/Santali - Letter writing (within 150 words) / Drafting of Report (within 200 words), Precis Writing, Composition and Translation from English to Bengali/Hindi/Urdu/Nepali/Santali
    • Paper II : English - Letter writing (within 150 words) / Drafting of Report (within 200 words), Precis Writing, Composition and Translation from Bengali/Hindi/Urdu/Nepali/Santali to English
    • Paper III : General Studies-I : (i) Indian History with special emphasis on National Movement and (ii) Geography of India with special reference to West Bengal.
    • Paper IV : General Studies-II : Science and Scientific & Technological advancement, Environment, General Knowledge and Current Affairs.
    • Paper V : The Constitution of India and Indian Economy including role and functions of the Reserve Bank of India.
    • Paper VI : Arithmetic and Test of Reasoning.

      List of Optional Subjects : Subject Codes are given below:

      • Bengali 01.   Hindi 02.   Sanskrit 03.
      • English 04.   Pali 05.   Arabic 06.
      • Persian 07.   French 08.  Urdu 09.
      • Santali 10.   Page 2 of 55 Subject Code.
      • Comparative Literature 11.   Agriculture 12.
      • Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science 13.
      • Anthropology 14.   Botany 15.   Chemistry 16.
      • Civil Engineering 17.   Commerce and Accountancy 18.
      • Computer Science 19.   Economics 20.   Electrical Engineering 21.
      • Geography 22   Geology 23  History 24
      • Law 25   Mathematics 26   Management 27
      • Mechanical Engineering 28   Medical Science 29
      • Philosophy 30   Physiology 31
      • Physics 32   Political Science 33
      • Psychology 34   Sociology 35
      • Statistics 36   Zoology 37

      The entire Course is designed according to the latest pattern of WBCS (Executive) Etc. examination. We provide Text Books and Practice Papers on all subjects to our students. Course duration is 12-14 months (4-5 days in a week). For details contact Head Office or your nearest branch of Halder College of Further Education.


      Achievers in WBCS Group - A Examinations
      Abida Sultana
      DY MAGISTRATE Hooghly
      Anindita Bhowmik
      Dy. Mag. & Collecter Kalyani
      Aniruddha Nandi
      Dy. Project Director 24PGS(N)
      Bilwadal Roy
      DPLO Birbhum
      Biswanath Chowdhury BDO. Paschim Medinipur
      Diptarka Basu Spl. Land Acq. Officer, Purulia
      Dulen Roy Dist. Manager SC & ST Dev. & FIn Crop. Jalpaiguri
      Jayati Chakarborty BDO Bishnupur
      Leena Mondal Dy. Magis. & Dy. Coll. Purulia
      Mihiran Baidya WBCS 06 GR A
      Mouli Sanyal Dy. Mag. & Dy. Collector Purulia
      Nilanjan Bhattacharya DPLO M
      Nillima Samanta BDO,Tamluk, Block - Sahid Matangini Devi
      Prolay Mondal Dy. Magist. & Collector, Coochbehar, Dinhata
      Rakhi Paul, BDO Berhammur, Murshibad
      Ranjan Hait, BDO Bankura, Block-Saltora
      Reena Ghosh BDO, Budge Budge I
      Reshma Debnath SDO, Howrah sadar
      Sadhan Debnath, BDO Murshibad, Jalangi
      Samik Panigrahi, BDO- Bhirbhum, Bolpur Shantiniketan
      Samiran Barik, Dy. Magist. & Collector Purulia
      Sankha Santra SDO, Burdwan, Durgapur
      Saumen Basu PS to MIC. Agriculture & Marketing Dept
      Soumyajit Roy WBCS'09 Gr-A
      Souvik Banerjee, Dy Director Small Savings Malda
      Souvik Patra, OSD, C.M.O. Off
      Sutapa Naskar Dy. Magist. & Collector Purba Burdwan
      Swarnendu Kanti Roy WBCS'09 Gr-A
      Achievers in WBCS Group - B Examinations
      Ambalika Das Joint Asst. Director. IB.WB
      Ananda Roy Dy. C.P. Zone II Barrackpore & Addl. Charge (DD) BKPC
      Animesh Roy Asstt. CP Bidhannagar P.C.
      Azhar A. Tauseef Addl. SP. Kalyani Nadia
      Barun Baidya (Gr-B), SDPO. Lalbagh, Murshidabad
      Biswajit Mahato Addl. SP. Jhargram
      Dhruba Das Addl. SS. CID WB
      Ghulam Sarwar ACP Howrah Police Com
      Indrajit Sarkar Addl. SP Mathabhanga, Coochbehar
      Indranil Kanjilal Deputy Trafic Hqrs. Trafic Branch
      Jyotirmay Roy Addl. SS,EB, WB
      Kalyan Sarkar SDPO Ghatal Paschim Medinipur. W.B
      Kamrujjaman Molla, Dy SP (HQ), Dakshin Dinajpur
      Kashinath Mistri (Gr.B), Dy. SP. Hqrs. Birbhum
      Kaustuvdipta Achariya ACP Barracpore PC
      Krishanu Roy SDPO Arambagh Hooghly Rural
      Nikita Fonning Addl. SP Uttar Dinajpur
      Parijat Biswas Addl. SP Purulia,
      Rahul Goswami Addl. DC.DD Bidhannagar Police Commissionrate
      Rana Mukherjee SDPO Uluberia Howrah Rural
      Saquib Ahmed, Saquib Ahmed, M.A. (Urdu)
      Shibaprasad Patra Addl. SP. Purba Medinipur
      Shyamal Samanta Addl. SP. Bankura
      Sowmojit Barua SDPO Bolpur, Birbhum
      Subhendu Mandal SDPO Mathabhanga Coochbehar
      Suprakash Das, UT Dy SP, Purba Burdwan
      Tamal Sarkar,Asstt. Commdt. SAP. 8th Bn. (to work at RAF 3rd Bn.)





Select theme colour

Stylesheet switching is done via JavaScript and can cause a blink while page loads. This will not happen in your production code.